Can't figure out legs

Inicio Foros Práctica y consejos Can't figure out legs

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Polyvios Animations 1 week ago.

• Suscribirte Tema favorito

So I've been drawing for a few years but never learned proper things like anatomy or gesture drawings, so my drawings always felt kind of stiff in a way. Now I'm getting into gesture drawing, but my biggest issues are that I try to focus on the little details instead of the bigger picture and that I can't figure out how to simplify the legs.

Focusing on the bigger picture is easy enough, I just need to catch myself when I focus too much on one thing, but the legs.
    I'm about halfway through a gesture drawing book and watched a couple of videos, but getting the legs correct completely eludes me. That weird S curve that I see drawn for the legs, I just can't picture it in my head. I don't know what the line specifically represents. Does the top half represent the top side of the thigh? The center? And then that inward curve in the middle; That messes me up the most. Did I draw that curve going too far out? Not far enough? Same issue as the top half of the line. Is that the edge of the calves? The center? I have no idea.

This image is a series of drawing I did. Some were 30 seconds (which are pretty clear to see) and others 2 minutes and one being 5 minutes.
    The arms do give me some trouble but to a lesser extent. Some of these dont even have legs because I just couldn't think of how to draw the line. Others I think have the legs drawn pdecentlyl (the 3 along the bottom) but I just know they look decent. I can't explain to myself what I did that made it make sense in my head.
    Any suggestions or help with the legs is very appreciated.

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this