Gesture Feedback

首頁 論壇 批評 Gesture Feedback

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Ptml 1 week ago.

• 訂閱 喜歡

Hey everyone! Im requesting your feedback on todays gesture drawing session. Im kind of confused with gesture drawing everyone seems to do it differently, so Im sticking with the approach taught in the line of action tutorial.

Id appreciate your feedback!

Pictures

Students get 33% off full memberships to Line of Action

Support us to remove this

You did a good job sticking to the tutorial. Trying to apply someone else's ideas to your own drawings helps you find new eyes for drawing, and begin to formulate new ideas about how your drawings work. And yepp, gesture drawing lessons are a bit of a riddle, as if you look at different teachers, they all propose different approaches and priorities, but still have something intangible in common.

As a self-taught artist, you'll never get as much feedback or firm orientation as you would like to have. You just select one thing and stick to it, and watch yourself to understand what changes. Sometimes you will experience rapid and satisfying improvements, at other times you will feel like you are stagnating, or even feel like your skills diminish, because doubts about what you have thought about establshed rules come about and challenge your confidence.

To me the 30 seconds/1 minute/5 minute/10 minute split of LoA's lessons feels like a setup for experimentation. You develop a foundation basically in the first minute, but the 30 second split forces you to develop it as a sequential process. "So, I will always observe/measure/focus this first, then this second to build the foundation" And then the 5 minute pieces are the proof of concept, where you discover what worked and what did not work.