Figure Drawing 3/8/22 (First time posting!)

Home Forums Critique Figure Drawing 3/8/22 (First time posting!)

This topic contains 8 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Maxx Burn 2 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

https://imgbox.com/RP7nhBOF
    https://imgbox.com/WyfCl0oW

I've been doing figure drawing sessions on and off for two months now. I can establish the line of action fine, but the further into the process I go (hanging the head, ribcage and hips) the more I struggle. I especially struggle with limbs. I can tell when a drawing's anatomy looks off, but it's like my hand doesn't get the memo. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Please support Line of Action

Support us to remove this

Hello!
    If I could give you a word of advice it would be not to focus on the anatomy itself yet. Anatomy comes in later once you have established good gesture, proportions and later shapes!
    Initial line of action seems to be well placed (I assume that because I can tell which references have been used, means you've conveyed the pose well :) ), so you need to learn where to go from there. I suggest you watch these (In this exact order):
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74HR59yFZ7Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uEtdDvK6Xo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0660Fuih7qo

If you haven't yet discovered Proko yourself, I suggest you pretty much follow his entire youtube learning series, it's pure gold! Just try not to "binge watch" the material, meaning that, try to practice for at least 1 week with each video. If it's about gesture - 1 week of gesture drawings. If it's about basic shapes - 1 weeks of basic shapes and so on!

I'm not the original poster, but I just wanted to say how helpful your reply was. Thank you.

Happy to help :)

Have a look at @willwestonstudio on Instagram. I recommend him in particular because he has a very systematic approach to the figure that uses a lot of midpoints and makes the figure easy to analyze.